Life’s Little Tests


Today I arrived at the pool, and as usual, the whole place to myself. Silent and still as a mirror as I slipped in. Then after 20 minutes or so another swimmer arrived, yes, in MY pool, MY space. I perceived her instantly as an intruder, yes almost an enemy.Next there are thoughts arising that maybe she is going to do this every morning and I wont have the place to myself. I hoped it was a one off and that she was a guest in the hotel and not a new regular. Its curious how these fierce primitive instincts arise.

Well I swam and swam and took my attention from the thoughts into the present, what I was feeling physically on my skin, my breath, what I could see and smell and hear….and the thoughts subsided a little. Realised that she didn’t impinge one little bit, I’m still loving this experience right now. I mused about how fickle preferences can be, and that in some life situations I could find myself in this person arriving would be the most welcome thing in the whole world. Like if I’d been stranded on a desert island starved of human company for a month I’d LOVE this person to arrive.

pool-mast

We coincided in the changing rooms after. She asked if this was the best time to come to the pool in the morning. Shit I thought, she is indeed a new regular. How to answer. Be honest or put her off, and protect my slot of solitude. I said between 8 and 11, that before and after it was busy. Which is true. Then she said ‘oh well I’m only here for one night anyway, staying in the hotel’. I was relieved to hear that. I wished her a good day and left.

 

 

Leave a Reply

